If you choose not to renew your Business, Pro, or Plus membership on Vimeo and your membership expires, your account will downgrade to Basic Membership upon expiration.
If your paid membership lapses to Basic, you will lose access to certain features, depending on the membership type:
- Vimeo Premium accounts that lapse will lose access to Business-level features, plus all live stream-related features, including unlimited streaming hours and 5TB of storage for archived Live events.
- Vimeo Business accounts that lapse will lose access to Google Analytics, team collaboration, lead generation, priority conversion, VIP support, Advanced Stats, custom embed settings, domain-level privacy, Portfolios, Review Pages, FTP uploading, SEO support for Showcases, and Vimeo On Demand.
- Vimeo Pro accounts that lapse will lose access to priority conversion, VIP support, Advanced Stats, custom embed settings, domain-level privacy, Portfolios, Review Pages, FTP uploading, and Vimeo On Demand.
- Vimeo Plus accounts that lapse to Basic will lose access to priority conversion, priority support, Advanced Stats, custom embed settings, domain-level privacy, and the ability to set a password for videos.
If your paid membership expires, you will keep any videos you uploaded while you were a Basic member, but you may lose some of the videos uploaded during your subscription. Though there is a 5GB total storage cap on Basic accounts, if you downgrade from a paid membership plan to Basic, you will still get to keep 10GB of the video you uploaded most recently during your membership. Any storage above the 10GB cap will be moved to our archive for storage up to one year, starting with the earliest videos you uploaded to Vimeo as a paid subscriber. If you renew your paid membership during that time, you’ll regain access to those videos.
Please see Changing your subscription to a lower tier to learn more about how to downgrade your plan to a lower-paid subscription and what that process entails.
⚠️Note that if you re-purchase a membership after you've lapsed, it may take some time (up to an hour) for your videos to be moved from our archive back into your account.
Weekly upload limits
After your account lapses, you will have a weekly upload limit of 500MB up to 5GB total account storage. So, if your total video storage exceeds 5GB, you will lose the ability to upload new content upon lapsing. You can free up storage on your existing account by deleting some of your older videos, rough cuts, or backups until you are under the 5GB cap.
You will keep and be able to edit the groups, channels, and showcases you created as a paid member, but you will not be able to create new ones beyond the Basic limits.
Because it’s costly to store source files, we only offer that service to paying members. If your paid membership lapses to Basic, any source files that were stored on Vimeo will be deleted after 60 days and cannot be recovered. The HD and SD versions of your videos will remain available.
Privacy and embed settings
Videos set to “Only people with the private link” and “Hide this video from vimeo.com” privacy will be set to “Only Me” instead. If your account is in Private Mode and you lapse, all your videos will be set to the "Only Me" setting. Videos with a password will keep the password until you change your settings, but passwords cannot be added to videos once you're on a Basic account.
Any videos with custom embed settings will revert to the default embed options for Basic accounts. If you have domain-level privacy set on your video, your embed privacy setting will be changed to “Nowhere.” That means you will need to change the setting to “Anywhere” in order to keep it embedded.
If you renew your paid membership, your advanced settings will automatically be restored. Any videos you haven’t modified since lapsing will go back to how they were before your account lapsed to Basic.
Downgrading from one paid subscription tier to another will not impact the content that you have uploaded to your Vimeo account. Your videos won’t lapse, however, your weekly allowed quota will change.
For example, if you were to downgrade from a Pro level subscription to a Plus level subscription, you would be limited to uploading up to 5 GB per week. If you were to downgrade your Business level subscription to a Pro level subscription, you would be limited to uploading up to 20 GB per week.
You can learn more about our individual plans here.
If you would like to switch your plan to a lower subscription, please reach out to Support so that we can schedule a downgrade for you. It is not possible to schedule a downgrade through your own Account Settings page, so please reach out to us for assistance.