Connecting with people can be one of the best parts of the Vimeo experience, but we understand that it’s important to have control over your connections.
To block a Vimeo member, head to the Privacy tab in your Account Settings, and scroll down to the “Blocked people” section. Click on the “Add a person to block” link, and then enter the Vimeo user ID or profile page URL of the person you wish to block, then click “Add”. When you are done eliminating people from your online life, remember save your changes.
When you block someone on Vimeo, that member loses the ability to:
- Follow you on Vimeo
- Like your videos
- Comment on your videos
- Add your videos to their Albums, Channels, or Groups
- Send you messages
- Share your videos (when logged in to Vimeo)
In addition, blocking someone will:
- Delete their likes and comments from your videos
- Remove your videos from their Albums, Channels, and Groups
- Unsubscribe them from your Channels and delete their shouts
- Remove them and any forum topics they have created from Groups you created or moderate
Finally, when you block someone, you automatically unfollow them and they automatically unfollow you (if applicable).
Please note: blocked members will still be able to view your profile page and watch your videos — they just can’t interact with them.
Members are not notified when they are blocked. However, they may find out they are blocked if they can’t follow you, send you messages, or try to perform the actions available to them before they were blocked.
If you change your mind and want to unblock a Vimeo member, go to your blocked members list and click "Unblock" next to the member’s user ID or profile page URL.
Alternative to blocking
In addition to blocking a member, you can unfollow a member (which automatically happens if you block someone), or flag a member’s video if you feel its content is not appropriate for Vimeo.