Content ratings are a way to keep Vimeo accessible to as many audiences as possible. We ask creators to tell us if their videos contain nudity, violence, profanity, or illegal substances.
If the creator selects a Mature rating, a Mature badge will appear next to their video title. If the creator selects an All Audiences rating, no badge will appear next to the video’s title. If the creator has not selected a content rating, only the creator will see a “Not Yet Rated” badge next to their video’s title (everyone else will see no badge).
How to rate your videos
You can rate each video from the Basic tab of its Settings page. Simply choose the appropriate rating ("All audiences" or "Mature"), select one or more of the Mature content categories if applicable, then save your changes.
If all of your videos can be categorized similarly, you can set a default rating for all your videos in your Global Video Settings. Under the heading "What is the content rating of your videos?" select the appropriate rating. Once you click Save as Default, the rating will be automatically applied to every new video you upload. Check the box next to "Apply to ALL my videos" if you want to apply the rating to all your videos currently on Vimeo. You can change the ratings of individual videos after applying a default rating.
Though often essential to artistic expression, so-called "mature content" can be decidedly less essential for certain audiences, such as children, office workers with their computer speakers turned up too loud, and people who’d rather not encounter particular things. Ratings give your viewers a heads up about what to expect from your videos, helping them make informed decisions and helping you avoid negative comments and complaints.
Once you’ve selected and saved your mature content settings, videos with the rating you’ve chosen to filter out will no longer show up in your search results.
If you come across a video that doesn't match your mature content settings in your feed, in a group or channel, or elsewhere on the site, the thumbnail of the video will be replaced by a warning. You can either heed this warning or click "I still want to watch this video" to hide the warning.