You can leave a comment on any video that has commenting enabled. You can enable or disable commenting on your own videos by navigating to your video, then click Advanced to go to your advanced settings, then navigate to General > Privacy.
Note: If the video is set to Private or Only Me, video recipients will see our cleaner, private recipient video page where the commenting interface varies depending on the video owner’s membership tier.
- Videos owned by Basic and Plus members will display a Comments panel on the video page; these video owners currently cannot disable this method of commenting on videos with these privacy settings.
- Videos owned by Pro, Business, and Premium members will see a button for the Review Page on these videos; the video owner can choose to disable the review page if they wish.
Enterprise members will see a "Comments" button on the video page of their Private and Only Me videos. Clicking that button will open the Comments panel along the right-hand side of the page. The comment panel for Enterprise users also supports time-coded notes, similar to review pages, as well as video comments.
You can leave a video comment by including a link to a public Vimeo video in your response, or by clicking the record icon to make a new video which will be embedded into your comment. You can reply to another user’s comment with a link to a public video but you can not record a video response in a reply to another user’s comment.
If you’re an Enterprise team owner or a Contributor or Admin team member on an Enterprise team, you can resolve comments left on a video. Please note that if the comment has additional direct replies, resolving the initial comment will also resolve all of the replies. Your viewers can toggle on the option to see any resolved comments, but they won’t be able to interact with them. If you want to fully remove a comment from your video, you can click the trash can icon to delete it.
All public and password-protected videos will continue to display the comments as demonstrated below.
If you made a typo while adding a comment, you can edit or delete your comment by hovering over it and clicking “Edit” or “Delete.” You can also remove someone else’s comment on your own video.
You can reply to a comment (or another reply) by clicking “Reply” in the lower right corner of the comment.
HTML won’t work in a comment, but you can share links. You can also use timestamps to send a viewer right to a specific section of your video. For example, writing "2:32" in the description will send a viewer to the two-minute, 32-second mark after the video loads. Please note: timestamps do not work for comments on Vimeo On Demand videos.
The general rule for commenting is simple: be cool and play nice. You are free to disagree and/or provide critical feedback in the comments section of Vimeo, but please keep it respectful. Also, don’t spam, and please be a person (not a robot). Check out our Community Guidelines for more info.
A Like is a quick and friendly way to let a video creator know that you appreciate, value, or maybe even love their video.
To like a video, just hover your mouse over the video player and click the heart icon in the top right corner. The heart will turn from white to blue to signify that your like has been registered. You can unlike a video by clicking on the heart logo in the top right hand corner of the video again.
It's not possible to like your own videos.
To see all the videos you've liked, hover over your profile image in the top navigation bar and click Likes in the menu.
Please note that you won't be able to comment or like videos if your profile is in Private Mode.
Watch Later is a handy way to bookmark videos you don't have time to watch right now. When you click the Watch Later button on any Vimeo player, it will be added to your private Watch Later page which you can access by clicking your avatar in the upper right corner, then click Watch Later. The owner of the video will not be notified when you add their video to your Watch Later queue.
You can remove a video from your Watch Later queue by hovering your cursor over the video player and clicking the Watch Later icon in the upper right corner of the player. To clear all of your Watch Later videos, go to your Watch Later page and click Clear All Videos on the right side of the page.