Plus, PRO and Business members can choose to store their source files on Vimeo.
Enabling source file storage
In your Account Settings, click the Videos tab, then select Upload Defaults. There, under the heading "Video preferences," you'll see a check box called "Keep source video files." Once that's checked, your source files will be stored on any uploads you make going forward. Checking the box will not restore any files that have already been removed. The same goes for when you upgrade — once your membership is at PRO or above, you'll have to go and manually enable this setting.
Downloading source files
If you store your source files, you will be able to download them at any time. If you enable downloads on your videos, any of your viewers who are logged in to their Vimeo accounts will also be able to download your source file in addition to any Vimeo versions (HD, etc.). (Logged out members cannot access source files.)
It’s worth mentioning that bigger is not always better when it comes to video files. The Vimeo HD versions of your videos are often smaller than your source files, even though the quality is not noticeably different. Therefore, it’s usually better for viewers to download your Vimeo HD versions to minimize download time without sacrificing quality.
Losing source files
By default, your source file will live in our servers for 7 days after you upload your video, and then it will be permanently deleted if you are a Basic member or if you are a paid member but haven't enabled source file storage.
You also must maintain your Plus, PRO, or Business membership to keep your source files. If your Plus, PRO, or Business membership lapses, your source files will be deleted after 60 days.
Please note: Any video source file uploaded via Dropbox or Google Drive prior to September 2016 will not be available for download, regardless of whether you enabled the setting in your video preferences.