Read on to learn about deleting VOD titles and how this affects your buyers.
In this article:
- How to delete a VOD
- What happens if I delete my VOD?
- What happens to active rentals if I delete my VOD?
How to delete a VOD
If you are sure you want to delete your VOD page, you must first unpublish the page.
- Go to your VOD's Settings page.
- Select Update status under the VOD title.
- On the modal that opens, select the Unpublish button under the options and confirm by selecting Unpublish again on the next window.
- Once your title is unpublished, you can click Delete this page on the left-hand side of your VOD page’s Settings.
- Read the warning box and then select Yes, delete if you are sure.
What happens if I delete my VOD?
In general, we don’t recommend fully deleting a title from Vimeo On Demand. In most cases, you can unpublish a title, which prevents future purchases and ensures that those who have already bought your title can still access it. Deleting a title will permanently clear all of your VOD analytics for that title and may cause a disruptive experience for your viewers, especially those who have purchased the title outright.
What happens to active rentals if I delete my VOD?
If you have active rentals and purchases on your title, your VOD page will be deleted 30 days after your last rental expires. This is because the people who paid the “Buy” price are guaranteed a 30-day window to back up their purchases.
Then, once the deletion process is completed and all purchases have been honored, any videos associated with your title will be released back to your account with the Private privacy setting. From there, you can make them public, delete them, or add them to a new VOD page.