If you are joining a Vimeo event as a guest speaker, this guide will walk you through what you need, how to navigate the guest speaker view, and how to know when you are live on the event.
In this article:
- Technical requirements for guest speakers
- Accepting an invite to be a guest speaker
- Navigating the Vimeo event's backstage
- Backstage is closed
- Backstage is open
- Presenting as a guest speaker
- What happens when the event ends
Technical requirements for guest speakers
To join a stream as a guest speaker on Vimeo, make sure you have the following:
- Desktop or laptop computer
- Joining a stream via mobile device is not currently supported.
- Up-to-date web browser
- Chrome 58+, Firefox 56+, and Safari 12+ are all supported
- Reliable internet connection: Your network’s upload and download speeds should at minimum be 5-10Mbps.
Accepting an invite to be a guest speaker
The event’s broadcaster will send you an invitation link either via an email from Vimeo (you’ll see a Join button) or by sending you a Vimeo live guest URL directly via other communication methods. The URL will look something like vimeo.com/live/guest/[unique string].
Your invite link is unique to you; you shouldn’t share it with others.
When you click the join link, you will see a screen showing your webcam and microphone on the left, and event information on the right.
You can adjust your video and audio sources by selecting the gear icon below the camera preview. Be sure to allow your browser to access your webcam and microphone if prompted.
You can also disable your camera and mute your microphone by clicking their respective icons below your camera source.
Navigating the Vimeo event's guest speaker view and backstage
When you are in the guest speaker view, you will see yourself and any other speakers who are also part of the event on the left panel, a preview player in the middle, and a chat panel on the right side.
Backstage is closed
When Backstage is closed, you will be able to hear other speakers and they can hear you at all times as long as no one is muted.
You can collapse the Speakers panel by clicking the arrow at the top right corner; doing so will expand the preview player.
Backstage is open
When Backstage is open and the event is live, the audience will only hear you and other guests who are in the stream. While in the stream, you won’t be able to hear any speakers who are backstage.
The guest speakers who are on stage will move from the Backstage tab to the Stream tab on the Speakers panel which is only visible backstage.
While in the stream, you can collapse the Backstage panel by clicking the arrow at the top of it; doing so will expand the preview player.
The main player on the page shows the live content so you can watch the event, regardless if you are backstage or in the stream.
Below is the stream preview:
- Your microphone, camera, settings, and screen share options. This is where you mute/unmute, enable/disable your camera, adjust camera and microphone settings, and request to share your screen.
- The next scene preview, which is what the broadcaster has queued up to send to the stream next. This will show you a notification if you are going to be live on the event soon.
On the right side of the page is a chat panel, which includes three tabs.
- The Audience tab is a public chat with event viewers, which you can participate in as well. Note that the event broadcaster may choose to disable this chat.
- The Speakers tab is an internal chat between you, the broadcaster, and the other guest speakers so that you can communicate outside of the event as needed.
- In both chats, you can hover over any message or emojis that you sent and click the trash can icon to delete your own messages.
- The Q&A tab is where you can see all questions. As a guest speaker, you cannot moderate or vote on them.
- The Q&A tab is only shown when the broadcasters start the Q&A session.
Along the top of the guest speaker view you will see:
- The event name
- “Live” or “Event offline” indicator
- “Backstage” or “Stream” indicator
- Stream health indicator
- Event timer
- An option to leave the event. Clicking Leave event will disconnect you from the event. Make sure you are totally done before clicking this.
Presenting as a guest speaker
When the event goes live, you will hear the stream output audio in addition to audio coming from speakers backstage.
You will know that you’ve moved into the stream when you see:
- Your camera source in the main preview player
- You will not be in the left-side Speakers panel as the panel will automatically collapse making the stream preview bigger
If you see a line through the microphone or camera icon below the player, that means your audience can't hear or see you, respectively. Make sure those are enabled.
If you need to share your screen:
- Click the blue “Request screen share” button below the main preview player
- Once the broadcaster gives you permission, you can then click the green Start screen share button.
- If you use Google Chrome or Firefox, you have the option of sharing your entire screen, a certain window, or a browser tab. Select your desired source, then click Share.
- Viewers will see your screen source in the player, with your camera showing in the lower right corner. Currently, it’s not possible to disable the camera window when screen sharing.
- Click Stop screen share to stop sharing your screen.
💡 Tip: You can also request to share your screen prior to going on stage. This is useful if you wish to go on stage with your screen share already active.
If you are presenting a slideshow, the broadcaster can upload and display the slides within your scene. When they add you to the scene, you will be able to control them directly from this page using the arrows below the preview player.
You will know that you are no longer on stage when:
- Your camera source is no longer in the main player
- Your camera source appears on the left side Speakers panel
What happens when the event ends
If you are completely done with the event, you can click Leave event at the top right of the page. Note that this will disconnect you entirely and should only be done when you are certain your presence is no longer needed.
When the broadcaster ends the stream, you will see a notification indicating that the event is over, allowing you to close the page.