By default, comments are off on a new site. You can disable or enable comments on a site level or at the video level.
Note that if "Made for kids" is enabled on your site, comments will stay disabled by default.
In this article:
- What happens when you update your site's comments setting
- Enable or disable comments site-wide
- Enable or disable comments for specific videos
What happens when you update your site's comments setting
If you enable comments on your site:
- You are required to take ownership of moderating your viewers’ comments. Vimeo OTT is not responsible for moderating this content but it does need to adhere to the Acceptable Use Policy as outlined in our Terms of Service.
- If comments had been enabled in the past, each video's comments will automatically be re-enabled, and future uploads will have comments enabled.
- If this is the first time you are turning on comments, you will have to enable them for each video you've already uploaded. Use the bulk editing option if you need to enable comments for many videos.
If you disable comments on your site:
- All videos will automatically have their comments disabled. Existing comments will be hidden, and will only be displayed again if you choose to re-enable comments in the future.
- Site comment settings override video comment settings. If you attempt to enable comments for a video, comments will still be hidden for that video due to the site settings.
Enable or disable comments site-wide
To update your comments configuration:
- In the top navigation in your admin dashboard, go to Manage > Site.
In the General menu, scroll down to see the option to Enable comments.
- When you select this, you will see a window asking that you agree to the terms of moderation. Once you agree to the terms, comments will be enabled for your site and will include the ability to flag, delete, and block users. Also, if you have notifications turned on, you will receive an email every time a new comment is posted.
If you already have comments turned on, a window will pop up automatically when you navigate to your Dashboard asking that you agree to the terms of moderation.
Please note that if you do not agree to the terms, comments will be disabled. Rest assured you will not lose your content, but existing comments will be hidden and new comments cannot be posted.
Enable or disable comments for specific videos
You can disable comments for a specific video at the bottom of any video edit tab if you have comments enabled on your site. To do so:
- Navigate to Content > Videos.
- Select the video, then select Distribution > Comments.
Make sure Enable comments is unchecked.