This feature requires a Pro, Business, Premium, Starter, Standard, Advanced, or Enterprise membership.
Vimeo supports file version history for its members. This means that each time you upload a new version of your video, Vimeo will preserve its previous versions on the video’s settings page so that you can easily go back and compare. Your video’s version history also keeps all of your notes, review pages, and changes organized in one place, allowing your team to collaborate easily.
In this article:
- View version history
- Version history features
- Versions for videos made with Vimeo
- Review pages for versions
- Replace your video
- Source files and versions
- Versions and quota
View version history
- Navigate to your Library and select the video you'd like to view the version history for.
Select the options menu (…) in the top right corner of the video settings page.
- Select Version History from the expanded menu.
- A window will open showing up to 50 previous versions of your video with the current version of your video designated.
- You can view other versions of your video by selecting that version from the list.
Version history features
Within Version history, you’ll see the username of the video’s uploader (i.e. if you’re working with a team) and the file size for the video. You’ll also be able to download or delete versions as well. Team members granted Viewer access cannot access version history as they cannot edit videos.
To Restore, Download, or Delete a version, select the (⋯) menu next to the timestamp.
⚠️Note: If you delete a video version, you won’t be able to restore it.
Versions for videos made with Vimeo
If you created a video using Vimeo, you will see an Edit button on the video's settings page. Every time you select Edit, you create a new version of that video. Note that paying members are able to access previous versions, whereas Basic and Free members cannot access version history.
Review pages for versions
If you have a review page associated with your video, any notes associated with previous versions will remain in place. When you’re on the review page, you’ll be able to see an abbreviated version of the video’s version history by selecting the dropdown menu at the top where you see your video’s name.
From here, you’ll also be able to jump between versions to track changes and review notes across all your video’s iterations.
Comments left on a version of that video will only appear on that version, and any reviewers or clients who get the review page link but aren’t on your team will only be able to see the current version of your video on its review page.
Replace your video
To get started using the video versions feature, follow these steps:
- Navigate to your Library.
- Select the video whose version you want to update, and select the options menu (…) in the top right corner of the video settings page.
Select Replace video from the dropdown menu to upload a new version of your video.
⚠️Note: Replacing the file doesn’t change the URL of the video or the video’s review page.
- After the upload is complete, the replacement video will be transcoded. Once it’s finished transcoding, it will become the current version. The previous version will appear in Version history with its filename, size, and timestamp.
Source files and versions
If you’ve opted to store your source files on Vimeo, only the source file for the current version (i.e., the latest upload) will be saved.
Versions and quota
When replacing a video, the amount of quota space used will depend on when the original source file was uploaded and your account type.
Free, Basic, and Plus members:
The previous version of your video will be deleted during the replacement process.
- If the original source file was uploaded within the current quota week, then only the difference in source file sizes will count against your weekly quota.
- If the original source file was uploaded outside of the current quota week, then the full size of the replacement source file will count against your weekly quota.
- The previous version of your video will be deleted during the replacement process.
Pro, Business, Premium, and Enterprise members:
- We'll automatically store all previous versions of your video instead of deleting them. As a result, the full size of the replacement file will be applied to your current weekly quota or total storage limit.
Starter, Standard, and Advanced members:
- Replacing a video does not use up any additional video cap space.