This feature requires an Enterprise account.
⚠️Note: Before enabling Prohibit public sharing mode, we highly recommend you change the upload default privacy setting for your Enterprise account to one of the following: 'private', 'unlisted', 'hide from Vimeo', or 'password'. That way, the videos are not uploaded with the 'public' privacy by default by your contributors.
Prohibit public sharing allows you to prevent contributors on your team from sharing content with the public. This allows you to ensure your colleagues don't accidentally share internal content with the rest of the internet.
⚠️Note: Admins will still have the option to share publicly.
Disable Public Sharing
The feature is available for Enterprise Admins and owners in the Teams' Settings panel under Privacy settings. Use the toggle in the settings for Prohibit Public Sharing.
Contributors will not be able to change a video’s privacy setting to public. The public setting will be disabled and there will be messaging telling them that they should contact an Admin for more info.
Contributors will also not be able to change the privacy when the video has already been set to public by an Admin. The other privacy settings will be disabled and there will be messaging telling them that they should contact an Admin for more info.
Additionally, Contributors will not be able to share Vimeo content with connected social accounts using “Publish to Social”. This option is hidden from the settings for your Contributors.
The Account Owner and Admins will still be able to utilize public privacy along with all the other privacy settings. We suggest that anyone on the team who should be able to share publicly should have the Admin role on your team when Prohibit public sharing is enabled.
Note: If you only use Vimeo as a member of an Enterprise team account, you will receive the Simplified Settings page.