The privacy settings of channels, groups, showcases, and portfolios will often override the privacy settings for your individual video. You may want to double check that only Public videos are added to your public collections.
To remove your video from any of the collections it's currently in, go to the General tab, Collections section in your video settings and uncheck the box next to the desired collection. Don't forget to click Save before leaving your video settings.
In this article:
Channels and Groups
Only Public videos or those marked password-protected can be added to a channel or group. Videos marked Unlisted or Hide from Vimeo will not be accessible or visible within a channel or group.
The privacy settings of channels and groups will always override the privacy settings for your individual video. For example, a password-protected video added to a public channel will be accessible to anyone who views that channel.
⚠️Note: You might not be able to add every video you want to your channel. That’s because Vimeo members can choose not to allow their videos to be added to groups, channels, and showcases. Chances are if you aren’t able to add a particular video to your channel, this was a conscious decision by the person that uploaded it.
If you add a nonpublic video to a showcase, that video's visibility will depend on the privacy settings of your showcase. Please see Privacy of videos in showcases for more information.
When creating a new portfolio, you can choose to password-protect it by clicking Password protect this Portfolio on the Create a Portfolio page. To password protect an existing portfolio, head to the Privacy tab from the portfolio settings page.
When you add videos to a portfolio, the privacy settings of the portfolio will always override the privacy settings for your individual video. Anyone with access to the portfolio will be able to watch all of the videos inside, regardless of the individual videos' privacy settings. This means that:
- If you add a nonpublic video to a public portfolio, it will be accessible to anyone with the link to the portfolio.
- If you add a nonpublic video to a password-protected portfolio, it will be accessible to anyone with the portfolio password.
Anyone with whom you share your video's review page link will be able to see that video unless the video is password-protected. If your video is password-protected, anyone with whom you share your review page link with will need to enter the video password before they can view your review page.
Google indexing of collections
A video added through a public collection may be indexed through Google, but can only be accessed through the collection. If the video is restricted for privacy with a password, it'll only be viewable with that password. Though it may be indexed and show up in search results, the video's privacy is not overridden. (Note that protecting a video with a password is only available with paid memberships.)